WLA Finals schedule announced

by Gary Ahuja

The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) has finalized the schedule for the championship round, with the winner hosting the 2023 Mann Cup Canadian Senior A Championship.

The New Westminster Salmonbellies will take on 2022 champions, Langley Thunder, in a best-of-seven matchup beginning Wednesday August 16 at Queen's Park Arena.

The New Westminster Salmonbellies defeated the Victoria Shamrocks in three straight games, while the Langley Thunder beat the Nanaimo Timbermen in four games. 

“Only two points separated the Salmonbellies and Thunder during the regular season, so this series is sure to be

a great one," said WLA Commissioner, Paul Dal Monte.

The winner of the final series will advance to the Mann Cup Championship against the eventual Major Series Lacrosse (MSL) champion from Ontario starting on Friday, September 8.

Note that playoff overtime rules are in effect. If a game is tied after regulation time, there will be a five-minute break, followed by a ten-minute overtime period. If the game is still tied, there will be a five-minute intermission, followed by a twenty-minute sudden death overtime period.